Friday, March 9, 2012

AT&T Clarifies Data Throttling Policly

 

images.jpeg
There has been some concern from AT&T customers about exactly what the company's data throttling for heavy data users really means.  Here is the quote direct from AT&T.
For a quick overview, here is what AT&T has to say:

If you have a smartphone that works on our 3G or 4G network and still have an unlimited data plan,

  • You'll receive a text message when your usage approaches 3GB in one billing cycle.
  • Each time you use 3GB or more in a billing cycle, your data speeds will be reduced for the rest of that billing cycle and then go back to normal.
  • The next time you exceed that usage level, your speeds will be reduced without another text message reminder.

If you have a 4G LTE smartphone and still have an unlimited data plan,the same process applies at 5GB of data usage, instead of 3GB.

You'll still be able to use as much data as you want. That won't change.Only your data throughput speed will change if you use 3GB or more in one billing cycle on a 3G or 4G smartphone or 5GB or more on a 4G LTE smartphone.

 

Post a Comment